dear starbucks

I’m sorry, but I don’t think we should stay together anymore. I know… it’s been (what..?) 25 years now. Wow. That seems like a half a lifetime almost when I say it like that. Our time together has been wonderful but somewhere along the line, you just got… evil. I suppose that’s the word I’m looking for. How else would you describe someone who condones slavery, basically?

It’s a matter of semantics, really. When you say that you’re cutting costs by using contractors who use prison labor, that almost sounds legitimate. Only it’s not, is it? In corporate terms, prison labor is the new word for “slavery” and you thought I wasn’t paying attention perhaps, that I didn’t see what you were up to? You think I’m “okay” with that, paying someone $0.30 per day instead of a real wage?

As a software developer in San Francisco, I just fell in love with your Grande Mocha. Do you remember when I’d visit you twice every day of the week? I couldn’t get enough of you. But you were always there. I thought I could count on you. I was addicted to you.

And now, everywhere I go, you’re there. Now that I know who you really are, it disgusts me. When I found out about all this, I haven’t visited you since that moment, not once. And don’t think I’ll ever come back to you because I won’t. I deserve better than you.

What you’re doing isn’t right. As a citizen, I could vote someone into office who might change all this but let’s face it, in a capitalistic country your only actual vote is the dollar. So, I refuse to “vote” for you anymore. I choose not to “elect” you as my coffee provider.

Anyway, I hope that you will be able to find someone who is perfect for you, like someone who’s also evil and… half-awake, perhaps.

Regretfully,
A long-time daily customer who will not condone modern-day slavery


From the Seattle Weekly:

In a statement, Starbucks public affairs director Audrey Lincoff said Starbucks is aware that Signature [its contractor] uses inmate labor and believes its contract with Signature is “entirely consistent with our mission statement,” which says the company will respect others, contribute to the community, and embrace diversity.

Starbuck’s Mission Statement:

With our partners, our coffee and our customers at our core, we live these values:

  •       Creating a culture of warmth and belonging, where everyone is welcome.
  •       Acting with courage, challenging the status quo and finding new ways to grow our company and each other.
  •       Being present, connecting with transparency, dignity and respect.
  •       Delivering our very best in all we do, holding ourselves accountable for results.

We are performance driven, through the lens of humanity.

Leave a Reply

