the inattentive blogger

I thought I’d see just how many bloggers pay little attention to their comments before first approving them. So I searched for a phrase which I saw in my own spam-marked comments and it surprised me how many people are falling for this.  There are at least 35 thousand blogs out there with this single instance of blog-spam.

Google: “My family every time say that I am wasting my time here at net”

MyFamilyEveryTimeSay

In some cases, like the Health and Wellness site that shows up as the first result in Google, it doesn’t result in anything harmful in this case because there is no link-back to the spam destination. It’s a seemingly-useful and yet bland/generic comment which has nothing to do with the blog post where it’s found. Note that it’s followed by another blog-spam attempt a minute later, likely the very same spammer.

NoLinkback

And in many cases, it does result in a harmful link within their blog comments. Working links like this result in promoting a particular website destination within, say, Google’s SEO.

Linkback

If you Google that exact phrase then the culprit who’s truly behind all this blog-spamming is likely one of these companies:  Google: “free online car insurance quotes”.

Specifically, it was this one…

https://www.freewebstore.org/carinsuranceminimizer

…which appears to have come under the scrutiny of the freewebstore.org’s Abuse department and they’ve been taken offline.

NoSoupForYou

Fortunately now, there’s no “there” there. Although tens of thousands of these dead links now litter the blogspace, no one is reaping the benefit. Given that someone just posted this same comment to my own blog (flagged as spam), I must assume that the spammer is possibly still getting paid to do so.

It’s like there’s a battle going on at all times on the interweb and it’s marketing versus I.T. most of the time. Only now, bloggers get to be the I.T. person just to maintain the status quo.

Leave a Reply

