windows 10 from vm on ubuntu

If you’ve been reading my blog for any time whatsoever, you know that I have been irritated with Microsoft lately. I purchased a new HP laptop with Windows 8, upgraded it immediately to 8.1 Pro and then took advantage of the free upgrade to Windows 10 Pro.

Things seem to work out okay for a bit. I must admit my frustration at Microsoft for trying to be just like Apple. The Microsoft Store mentality, the logging in via Internet-based credentials rather than local credentials, the inability to innovate rather than to just copy. It’s a little sad, actually. There was a time when Microsoft led the industry and now they can’t make a move unless they’re mimicking something that Apple’s already done.

And yet, Microsoft is still the leader in business applications for the moment.

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

After some ugly automated update that left my laptop is a non-working status, I decided after three months of this that I needed something else. I reformatted the hard drive completely and installed the free operating system Ubuntu Desktop. It’s nearly bullet-proof at this point. There is a manageable glitch regarding the ethernet adapter after a Restart but I’ve got a work-around. (And I’ve installed it on many other computers without this issue—it seems to be related to the wi-fi adapter only.)

Virtual Machine Manager

I was playing around with its features today and remembered that it includes a working VM solution. You can create a virtual machine, spin it up and run it from Ubuntu. I wondered if I could then run Windows 10 Pro again in a VM session on this same laptop.

WindowsOnUbuntu

Windows 10 Pro in a Virtual Machine

Why yes I can. (As in “been there, done that”.) The actual download of the ISO image of Windows 10 took more time than the actual installation itself. Here’s the overview of that install.

  1. Download an ISO image for Windows 10 and indicate your language choice
  2. In Ubuntu, select the Search item and look for Virtual Machine, selecting Virtual Machine Manager
  3. Create a new virtual machine, selecting the ISO file from the first step
  4. Give it at least 20248 RAM and at least 16GB hard drive space (I initially selected 3072 and 80 for these)
  5. Go with the defaults and give your VM a name, I chose Win10Pro for this
  6. Watch it go through the standard Windows 10 Pro installation and at the Product Key entry screen choose the option to do that later
  7. It will quickly run through the installation (much faster than it normally would or so it would seem)

Activating It On-the-Cheap

I followed the prompts afterwards to see what Microsoft wanted to charge on their Store for a legitimate Product Key. Microsoft wanted $199.99 for this.

So I searched on Google for anything less than this and wasn’t disappointed. eCrater just sold me the same thing for $10. They provided the Product Key, I entered it in and it’s now activated without any hassle.

Oddities

Since this is one of my first forays into VM on Ubuntu, I’ll note a couple of strange things which I saw.

  • Choosing the full-screen option seems to select a more squarish/middle part of the laptop’s screen rather than using its entirety.  I will likely have to research this or just ignore it.
  • Once in full-screen mode it’s not apparent how one gets out of that and back to Ubuntu.  It looks like pressing Ctl-Alt may bring down an upper menu. I’ve also heard that Ctl-Alt-F seems to toggle the cursor out of the VM window’s control. I was ultimately able to toggle from full-screen AND be able to move the cursor from its window, (a major breakthrough).

That said, I was able to finish up a session running Windows 10 Pro and then within that window, shut it down as you might normally do. The Virtual Machine Manager then informed me that this VM was down.  It’s possible then to alter the VM’s device settings, say, to change the available amount of RAM.

And the next time I need Windows, I can just spin up the virtual machine image again. I’m thinking that this is better than multi-booting, as I’ve done in the past. (I’m looking at my dual-boot MacBook with Ubuntu on it.)

Believe It Or Not…

The original Windows 10 Pro networking bug isn’t seen in this Windows-on-Ubuntu setup. It actually works… better?

I guess I’ll need to use it more to find out but it somehow seems faster than I remember. How is that even possible? Before, the native-mode Windows 10 Pro had access to all 6MB of RAM and now, it has only 3MB. Granted, I haven’t tried to run several programs at once on it and I haven’t installed Office 365, for example. We’ll see. I’ll keep an eye on it and let you know.

1 thought on “windows 10 from vm on ubuntu”

Leave a Reply

