the tyranny of lint

I’ve found what appears to be an awesome bit of WebGL code for my website. I honestly spent only an hour tweaking the demo code so that it looks amazing. It’s got 3D movement, perspective, animation and very realistic-looking physics. The only major problem now is shimming it into my Polymer Elements website, somehow getting all this past Lint‘s watchful eye.

Lint

JavaScript Lint is a tool for checking your code, presumably from poor coding practices. I suppose that’s all well and good for the code I write but what happens when I then want to simply bring in someone else’s and their code has never been seen by Lint before? Well, the results are fairly dramatic for me, the person trying to bring in this code. Since the other coder doesn’t use Lint, the burden falls squarely on my shoulders to now laboriously go through their code just to make Lint happy. And let’s face it, Lint is an annoying little bitch when you get right down to it.

Why Lint?

You might be wondering why I might have added this to my project in the first place. I suppose the honest answer would be: I didn’t. The gulpfile.js in this project builds everything so that only a fraction of the code is then published to the website. I suppose this is “best practices” if you’re a big company like Google and you want to obfuscate your HTML source as much as possible. And Lint is just part of that build process which I inherited by using the Polymer template code.

If you’ve never seen a gulpfile.js and have never used gulp before you might try getting your feet wet by trying a project using Polymer Elements by Google. You can process the build by simply running gulp or something more sophisticated like building and then serving up your website locally with gulp serve, for example.

Held Hostage

I’ve just spent two long sprints of coding work trying to get three files past Lint.

The first is a JavaScript file called Sylvester. It’s a vector/matrix library and it looks like it’s very useful. It’s a dependency of the demo I brought in. This single file has taken two hours alone trying to get it past Lint’s complaints. The file is perhaps 1500 lines long. Honestly, I can’t say that it’s buggy. It’s just that Lint expects you to be an anal-retentive coder. For example, if you have a single variable which is in camelCase style, then ALL variables in the file must be the same style. This is one of the myriad reasons why Lint will fail your build process.

The next file is glUtils.js and  appears to be something to augment the Sylvester library. And I just spent three hours working with Lint trying to get this one to stop complaining.

And the last file is WebGL.js and appears to be the work of the demo author himself. I’ve just spent over four hours editing this one to make Lint happy.

Nine hours hacking away at other people’s code and I’m still not finished yet. Lint is still complaining about a variety of things and I haven’t even actually added the code to my project other than dropping the files into the scripts folder.

What Now?

I’m left with a decision to make.

  1. Do I abandon Lint’s review of these three files by filtering them from the appropriate section of the gulpfile.js job?
  2. Do I research Lint to find out how to tell it to ignore the offending section(s) of code so that it thinks it’s happy?
  3. Do I abandon the demo code idea completely and not bring it into my project?
  4. Do I abandon the Lint step completely from the build process itself?

I don’t know at this point. I do know that I’m tired of doing this, though.

Wishes

What would be nice is if popular editors out there could automatically review JavaScript while you’re typing it. In theory, then this might minimize the work for other people who wish to use your code.

Secondly, what would be nice would be if github had a built-in checker which could indicate a Lint rating, say, for anything in the repository. Or possibly, it might be a flag style of attribute. Regardless, if you were considering bringing in some code you could have an early warning that you might spend literally days having to update it.

Leave a Reply

